NEC Amendment Act 2002

  • The NEC Act was amended by the Parliament in 2002 (Act No. 68 of 2002). The 'North Eastern Areas' now means the area comprising the States of Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim and Mizoram. The Council now has as its members the Governors of the States mentioned above, the Chief Ministers of the said States and three Members nominated by the President. The President will nominate the Chairman of the Council and he need not be nominated from amongst the other Members. The North Eastern Council (Amendment) Act, 2002 enjoined the NEC to act as a 'regional planning body'.

    NEC Amendment Act 2002: Download (535.01 KB) nec-image ,